Turner triumphs at the South Wales Autumn Blitz

GM Matthew Turner scored a perfect 11/11 at the South Wales Autumn Blitz, to win the tournament with a performance rating of 2789. Sharing second place with 8/11 were William Hewitt, Peter Heavan and Tim Kett.


Lee Davis wins 3rd Welsh Seniors Championships

At the 3rd Welsh Seniors Championships and South Wales Summer Congress, held in Penarth on 1-3 September 2017, Lee Davies netted first placed in the Seniors with 4/5. Peter Bevan and AGM Rudy Van Kemenade shared second with 3.5 points.


Welsh players at the 2017 British Championships

Several Welsh players put in very strong performances at the 2017 British Championships and are in with a good chance of winning the Roy Clunes Award, which will be announced later this week. Two of the leading contenders for this award, given for the best performance by a Welsh player at the British Championships, are […]

Penarth Lighting tournament

Kick off the new chess season with a blast! The Lightning tournament is here again (incorporating the Penarth Club Championship). When: 31st August Where: Penarth Chess Club (5 Stanwell Rd, Penarth, South Glamorgan CF64 2EZ) Time: 7:30 pm […]

14th South Wales International 8th-14th July

Full details can be found at www.southwaleschess.co.uk.

Pairings and results will be published on chess-results.com.

A 3-Way Tie for the 2nd North Wales FIDE Open

The 2nd North Wales FIDE Open (incorporating the 4th Colwyn Bay Congress) was held at Venue Cymru in Llandudno over the weekend of 30th June – 2nd July 2017. Numbers were up by an encouraging 8% this year, with 90 entries split across the three sections. 25 of these entries were Welsh players, and we […]

Welsh Blitz Championship June 17th Bishop Hedley School, Merthyr Tydfil

All entrants please note that entries should be sent to Kevin Staveley (email: kevin.staveley@btinternet.com)

Welsh Premier League – Season 2017-18

Anyone interested in entering a team in the 2017-18 season should contact Kevin Staveley (kevin.staveley@btinternet.com) before the end of June.

Welsh players win in Frome

At the Frome Congress, held on 12-14 May, first place in the open section was shared by this year’s winner of the Welsh Championships, Alan Peasants, Welsh international Jane Richmond, and the English player Scott Crockart.

2017 Welsh Blitz Championship (FIDE Rated)

The 2017 Welsh Blitz Championship will be taking place at Merthyr on Saturday 17th June. The Entry Form can be downloaded here.