A O Jones Rapidplay 2024


The annual WWCL Rapidplay for the AO Jones trophy was held at Morriston Rugby Club on Saturday 18th May 2024.  We’ve opened the event to non -WWCL members for some years now and again attracted players from the East Glam & Dyfed leagues. The AO Jones trophy is awarded to the highest placed WWCL member.

The event is a 6 round swiss (20 mins & 5 second increments), run as one tournament. All the entry fees were returned as prizes.

FM Grzegorz Toczek (2328) was the top seed, with Adam Musson (2043) and Derek Jones (2023) the only other players rated over 2000 on the WCU rating list. The event gave a number of lower graded players the chance to play a Fide Master & member of the current Olympiad Team. Grzegorz didn’t have it all his own way, conceding a draw to Ian Jones (1972) in Rd3 and to 14-year-old Vismith Prabhu (1388) in Rd4. Vismith also drew with Derek Jones (2023) in Rd6.


1st= Ian Jones (Morriston), winner of the AO Jones trophy & Grzegorz Toczek (Cardiff)

3rd= Adam Musson (Morriston) & Derek Jones (Cardiff)


1st Farouq Nasir (Morriston)

2nd Sam Brown (Morriston)

3rd Bill Davies (Rhondda)


1st Vismith Prabhu (White Knights)

2nd Bobby Taylor (Morriston)

The full results can be seen on Chess-Results website here.