Chess Training Session Flyer

Jonathan Blackburn is launching the first in his series of online training session mid-March on the subject of positional play.

There are two sessions one for adults and one for juniors.

The content of the sessions will cater for players both at the higher and lower end of the grading list but a basic knowledge […]

Update on OTB chess

Dear Member,

We hope you are well and are coping ok during these ongoing challenging times. We have received a number of questions from members in relation to the plans for returning to over-the-board chess and we thought it would be useful to give you all an update.

The Welsh Chess Union (WCU) will continue […]

2nd WCU Online League

The 2nd Online league will start on Tues March 16th. We will decide on the exact format after the number of entries is known. There will, however, be an Open and U1800 section. To this end, please can you ensure that you register your team by Feb 28th at the latest, but the earlier the better.

You have […]

WCU Online League and Blitz Results

Following the completion of fair play measures stated in the rules we can confirm the results of the Welsh Online League and Welsh Blitz



1st Newport and Friends 2nd Cardiff 3rd Pontyfenni B

UNDER 1800   

1st North Cardiff Panthers 2nd Aberystwyth University 3rd Steynton A


1st Grzegorz Toczek 2nd Daniel […]

1st WCU Online League winners anounced

The 1st WCU Online League concluded on Tuesday with the overall winners being Newport and Friends.

North Cardiff Panthers won the U1800 League.

Congratulaions to both teams!

Barry Chess Club

A history of Barry Chess Club edited by Martyn Griffiths is now available on the Club Histories page.

1st WCU Online League Update 3/9/20


OPEN:                              All play all

UNDER 1800:                   6 round Swiss

Rule Change

Please note we have amended rule 5 to give some flexibility to the fixtures (changes in italics):

Fixtures (i) A league schedule will be issued by the controller before 7th September. This will be published on the WCU site. (ii) Matches will […]

Welsh Chess Union Online League

There is still time to join this competition


OPEN: Aberystwyth, Cardiff, Morriston, White Knights

UNDER 1800: Barry, De La Beche Pawns, De La Beche Rooks, North Cardiff, North Cardiff Penguins

2nd WCU Online Blitz Results

The result was:

1st Grzegorz Toczek

2nd Tomasz Miga

3rd Tim Kett

2nd WCU Online Blitz (22/7/20)

The 2nd WCU Online Blitz will be held on 22nd July 2020 starting at 19.00pm.

Further details can be found here.