2022 A O Jones Results and Report

25 players attended on the day, 6 less than 2020, which was probably to be expected, 14 players were from WWCL & 11 from East Glamorgan.  

Open Section (14 players)

1st= Ian Jones (Nidum), Moss McCarthy (Morriston) & Sam Jukes (Cardiff), 4/5 (£32.50 each)

Ian Jones & Moss McCarthy shared the AO Jones trophy, awarded to the joint highest placed WWCL members. This was a second win for Moss who previously won the event in 1987, the gap of 35 years being the longest period between two wins by the same person! Ian has hands on the trophy for the 13th time.

U-1800 prize, Guy Wagner (Cardiff) 3/5 (£10)

U-1500 Section (11 players)

1st Ken Wardle (Bridgend) 4.5/5 (£35)

2nd Suliaman Nasir (Morriston) 4/5 (£20)

3rd Ethan Jenkins (Rhondda) 3/5 (£15)

4th= Bill Davies (Rhondda), Andrew Powell (Castell Nedd), Mike Hollyman (Rhondda), David Reid (Caerphilly) & Darston Beetson (Morriston) (£2 each)

My thanks to Ian Eustis for controlling the event, also Les Philpin & Moss McCarthy for arranging the venue and the buffet. Thanks also to WWCL President Ralph Cook for a very generous donation towards the prize fund.