WCPL Update

All games from Rounds 1-3 are now available on the games page.

Welsh Girls Championship Results

The 2019 Welsh Girls’ Championships were held at Ysgol Gymraeg Caerffili on 26th January.

The lower age groups were paired as one large group with the following prizewinners:

U8: 1st Nona Roberts,

2nd Lydia Thomas 

3rd Amelie Caesar

U9: 1st Vivien Townsend

2nd  Gwennan Evans

U10: 1st Isabella Caesar

2nd  […]

Junior Congress Results

The winners were:

Starters’ (7 player all-play-all) 

1st= Tom Griffiths and Jamie Lau-Jones  6/7, 

3rd Nathaniel Ekemani 5/7

Major (6 round Swiss) 

1st=  Hassan Amar and Govind Anandkumar 5,

3rd Robert Sequeira 4.5   (18 entered)

Premier (6 round Swiss) 

1st Daniel Seymour 5.5,

2nd Ahmed Bilal 5, […]

First Rank Newsletter Edition 1 2019

The newsletter can be viewed here.

Mike Colwill RIP

Sad news has reached us that Mike Colwill (Rhondda Chess Club) passed away on 31st December.

The Management Board wish to extend their sincere condolences to Mike’s family and friends at this very sad time.

Mike’s Funeral is due to take place on Tuesday 22 JanuaryVenue: Carmel Chapel  Treherbert at 10.15 am. Interment at […]

World Seniors Rhodes, 15-25 April 2019

The two teams selected for this event are as follows:

Wales Silures (Over 50s)Sven ZeidlerMark Adams (Captain)Anthony HughesJohn FletcherLynda Smith

Wales Deheubarth (Over 65s)Iolo Jones (Captain)John ThorntonJohn WaterfieldPeter BevanBill Harle

We wish them all he best!


Bill Flew Memorial Tournament (Correspondence Chess)

Details of this event can be downloaded here.

Junior Rapidplay Ratings Website

Parents, organisers and players who use the Junior Rapidplay Ratings Site will find a few small changes to this site.  In fact although the site has the same ‘feel’ to it, everything has been rewritten, with the ratings program and website being completely revamped with various improvements. 

The birth years are now all […]

South Wales New Year Congress Results

Open:=1st Gregorz Toczek, David Sands and Conor Gay 4pts

Major:=1st Duncan Macarthur and Dai James 4.5 pts=3rd Stephen Williams, Tom Bennett, Scott Hammett, Les Philpin, David Parsons, Andrew Smith and Mark Cooke 3pts

The games from the Open are now available on the Games page.


Gwynne Rhys-Jones RIP

Sad news has reached us that Gwynne Rhys-Jones of Upper Killay Chess Club passed away on 23rd December.

Gwynne was a founder member of a committee formed to produce the British Isles Chess Championship in Swansea in the 1980’s.

The Management Board wish to extend their sincere condolences to Gwynne’s family and friends at […]