St John’s dethrone The Dell at Cardiff Stadium

At the Cardiff Stadium event, held on Tuesday 28 November, St John’s College Cardiff took top spot, winning all five of their matches by a comfortable margin. Rhydypenau came second in division one, and the winners for the previous three years, The Dell, came third.


Third Welsh Junior Congress 2017

In the third and final Welsh Junior Congresses to be held this autumn Daniel Chung won the Open section. Yuxuan Wu came second and Joel Chung third.


WCPL Rounds 1 and 2

Games from WCPL Rounds 1 and 2 can now be downloaded from the Games page..

Chepstow and St John’s qualify for the regional round of the Under 19 Open

On Monday 20 November St John’s and Chepstow B enjoyed success in a qualifier for the regional round of ECF Under 19 Open (formerly The Sunday Times and then The Times Championship). In this event, played at Bristol Grammar, St John’s put in a very impressive performance, winning all three games. Chepstow B, a very […]

Welsh success at Musketeers junior congress

At the Musketeers junior congress in Cheltenham on Saturday 18 November, Harrison Postans won the U12 championship with 5/5, and Lewis Wynn finished joint second in the U10 boys. […]

Tim Kett and Gerry Heap win West Wales Open, 5 tie first in Major, Albert Easton wins Minor

At the 2017 West Wales Congress between 17th-19th November, the winners were:

West Wales Open

1st= Tim Kett and Gerry Heap 4/5

3rd= Adam Musson and Sven Zeidler 3.5/5

West Wales Major

1st= Roger Greatorex, Roy Thomas, Stephen Horrell, Stephen Williams and Tomaz Miga 3.5/5

West Wales Minor

1st Albert Easton 4/5

2nd= Sean Denton, […]

Beryl Hughes RIP

Sad news has reached us that Beryl Hughes passed away in hospital last Monday, aged 86 after a short illness. She was Welsh Ladies Champion in 1975 and 1999.  In recent years she had been a member of Caerphilly club, but moved this season to Cardiff club.  As recently as last Easter, Beryl had won […]

Bristol Congress 2017

For those interested in competing in the Bristol Congress (24th-26th November), the details can be found here.

88 FIDE Congress Executive Board Minutes and Annexes

The minutes can be viewed here.

Second Welsh Junior Congress 2017

The second of three Welsh Junior Congresses to be held this autumn took place on Saturday 11 November at Chepstow School. Madeleine Smith won the Open section; Tcyho Twohig and Sanwi Dantu shared the Premiership; Lara Omidvar, Harri Gilbert and Ioan Phillips shared the Major; and Linton Scotthorne won the Starters.